100 Posts and One Year Later

Even though I’ve missed ‘Something New’s first birthday (the original post was December 31st – what the heck was I thinking?!), I’m going to take a bit of license and write my 100th post as something of a retrospective.

It’s pretty incredible how many things can change in a year. Some of them are easy to see; while I’m still using the same skin, my shape has changed to reflect a softer, more womanly personality. I’ve switched to using lighter shades of blonde hair. The Rozena ‘kiss kiss’ lip tattoo is one of my staples now (the only time I’m without it is when I’m wearing big bold lipstick instead.) I have found amazing new stores, covered events, taken up blogger challenges and issued one of my own. I wrote a quiz that received more page views in 24 hours than I usually get in a week.

100 C 600 (Okay, so maybe it looks a little like a tv weight loss commercial. HA! )

Harder to notice are the ways I’ve changed inside. If you’ve followed my blog, you may have read that I battle emotional and mental illness (and I  am ALWAYS open about this). You’ve probably inferred that I have loved and lost. I have picked up the pieces many times this year and needed to soldier on. It’s been harder than I would have imagined but I’ve made it through. I’m stronger now.

My first post ever (link is here) said the following:

So yes, this is me. (Arguably) Doing what I do best. No, it isn’t anything to do with photography.

At all.

I do love looking pretty, though, and doing it in a way that suits me. I love spending time with my family and friends looking great and being silly. I love making a space interesting and inviting and planning for the future.

I hope to cover all these things in my blog and I’d dearly love to share my journey with you this year. Buckle up, kiddos, it’s going to be good times!

Honestly, it’s been mostly good times.

My first post was a little frivolous but through the months I’ve come to realize quite a lot about myself. I believe that a positive outlook is the only way to achieve real happiness.

I share things here to help you smile and feel as though you’re a little less alone. This is why every post is a little bit different, why every outfit I put together has some sort of contextual reason to be in this blog. This isn’t a catalogue of ‘looks’ to flip through in order to find the newest trends in SL fashion – there are plenty of those already.

This is me connecting with you, sharing an outlook that isn’t always pretty but, gosh, what is? The important thing is that we try.

So here’s to the beginning of a new year: it won’t be perfect; it may not always be fun, but I promise I’ll be right here the entire time, doing my best to connect, to be open, and to help you find your reason to smile.

100 L 600

~ Portia ~

Fairy Skin -Avie- /*natural *REDGRAVE*
IKON Eternal Eyes – Pond
Miamai_Catwalk Lashes_Evergreen 04 Audrey
ROZENA/ Kiss Kiss ~ dolce

::Exile:: Sway My Way:Stefani

Maitreya Silk Neck-Tie Blouse S * Pure
JANE – wide leg pant.zooey.truffle
[Gos] Hunter Ankle Boot – Hazel -

Donna Flora ~ MARIA Set 1&2
[PM]Sculpted Nails V2

Pose: Diesel Works

There’s only one possible song to share here. Measure in love, honey.

One thought on “100 Posts and One Year Later

  1. You look gorgeous, Portia! And again, I see that we have similar styles since you’re wearing things I also own or would love to buy! We definitely have to get together sometime to talk clothes (and other stuff as well). :-)

Leave a Reply

