From Day to Night

Have you been to the Singer Icon Fair (SIF) yet?

It’s been running a while now (through December 13th) and while I apologize for the late coverage, I wanted to do this post justice too. Sometimes it really is better to let an outfit (or two in this case) sit for a day or so while your mind continues to process everything it is that you hope to achieve with a blog entry.

The theme of this post is ‘glam by day .. rockstar at night,’ which has been as challenging as it has been fun. Cecilia Blachere, designer of shine by [ZD], chose the artist Taylor Monsem (The Pretty Reckless) as her inspiration for the fair and she’s providing two exclusive outfits for us! Flipping fabulous ones. OMG.

Glam By Day 600 ( Practice really does help us improve! My photos are getting better all the time. :D )

So it shouldn’t come as a surprise that the ‘glam’ outfit came together pretty easily. Since I basically live in my Gos ankle boots anyway, I grabbed them in taupe along with my favourite black tights (part of the Paper Couture ‘Braided Finish’ outfit) and lovely long white gloves.

But it still wasn’t ‘glam‘ enough! Gos‘ butterfly sunglasses came next along with Cae’s amazing ‘entangled’ jewelry set, both set to a platinum sheen to play off the studs in Ceci’s gorgeous mesh dress. Even though I rarely wear purses of any kind, I dashed over to FaMESHed to pick up Maxi Gossamer‘s FuFu bag in silver. I had to. It was important. >.>

Glam By Day 600 Close (Bigger pic, holy wow. )

The ‘rockstar’ outfit was a little harder for me, hah, since it’s not my habit to go running around in corsets, garters, and stockings (but more on THAT in my next post, raar!).

This outfit began with the LeLutka Blake hair, actually, and I worked my way down. One of the first things you’ll notice in a Pretty Reckless video is Miss Monsem’s long, long blonde hair, followed by massive amounts of eyeliner and her arresting pale eyes. Check and check! Pekka‘s kitty liner and IKON‘s Eternal Eyes in ‘Money’ seemed like the way to go, along with my favourite Miamai eyelashes in ‘Femme.’

Rockstar At Night 600 (Mhmm, larger pics await you here. )

But I’m still naked from the waist down! Aack! So the ‘Rockstar at Night’ outfit follows and gosh, do I ever love Shine right now. Stockings, corset, garters, and these cute little bows help me feel slightly more covered but, uhm, it’s still not enough. This doesn’t make me a prude; it means I get to accessorize even MORE because, as nice as skin is, I think it’s way hotter to be covered up. At least a little bit.

So next, it’s tattoos! Something I rarely get to play with but I just love this ‘Outlaw’ full body tattoo from v3 and it’s yet another way to hint at something interesting going on beneath your clothing. Take note. Take heed. Probably also run to v3 and look around. No, no. I’ll wait. :D

So now that you have your new tattoo (or at least a nice little shopping list), you have to wonder:

“What else can I use to carry a bit of glam into my rockstar-corset-tattooey-wickedness look?”

Tall boots, like these mesh numbers from Maitreya, aren’t really something you want to wear with a short skirt and bare legs (or maybe that’s just me >.>) but maaaan, they’re GREAT with stockings, leggings, and system layer bottoms. Mostly bare arms? Try a see-through glove like these crochet armwarmers from Shine and guys, seriously, couture jewelry is NOT just for evening wear. I brought this Chop Zuey ‘Miracle Business’ set into the picture and you can too!

Rockstar At Night Close 600 (Geez, I talk too much. Here, look at another pic! <3 )

~ Portia ~

Fairy Skin -Avie- /*flavour *REDGRAVE*
IKON Eternal Eyes – Lagoon
ROZENA/ Kiss Kiss ~ dolce

[LeLutka]-EFFECT hair – Marilyn

shine by [ZD] MESH PUFFY SLEEVES DRESS silky rose ~ SIF Exclusive!
p.c Braided Finish Stockings
[Gos] Hunter Ankle Boot – Taupe -

[Gos] – Custom Sunglasses v3.2 BUTTERFLY [model]
Cae :: Entangled ::
MG – Fufu Bag – Madame Mimi – Silver Shimmer ~ NEW @ FaMESHed
-LMK- Long leather gloves

~

Fairy Skin -Avie- /*natural *REDGRAVE*
IKON Eternal Eyes – Money
Miamai_Catwalk Lashes_Evergreen 01 Femme
.Pekka. Kitty Eyes Eyeliner
ROZENA/ Kiss Kiss ~ dolce

[LeLutka]-BLAKE hair S – Marilyn

shine by [ZD] MESH “TAYLOR” CORSET  ~ SIF Exclusive!
~ Sexy ripped stockings/garters/bows are included with outfit!
Maitreya Mesh Jazz Boots * Black

v3 Tattoo – Outlaw (womens) AGED 2
Chop Zuey ~ The Miracle Business Choker & Cuff
shine by [ZD] – MESH ARM WARMERS crocheted black
[PM]Sculpted Nails V2 – Size 20 – Long

Poses: Diesel Works, !bang

Pictures taken at:
1) An undisclosed location (okay, it’s the new shine and sharp mainstore but you didn’t hear it from me!)
2) DSL Records Club & Stage (and you can build here so it’s great for pics!)

Leave a Reply

